Item added to your cart.

Solar Dream Reel
Phono Ghosts
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 9, 2016

Phono Ghosts (alias of producer Neil Scrivin - also behind Meatbingo) returns with his long-awaited second album released via brand new imprint Fonolith.

Building upon the cassette-raiding, micro-sampling methodology and varied sound landscape of 2013's Chrome Position on Skam Records, Solar Dream Reel is a journey through summery funk, mangled radio jingles, evocative atmospheres and anthemic edit-stomp, all filtered via the shimmery analogue lens of the compact cassette.

A sonic exploration of that borderland between the waking world and sleep - a place everyone has been to but few remember - Phono Ghosts comes back to reality with a selection of vivid Polaroids and cassette memories from his visits to the hypnagogic hinterland of the collective unconscious and presents these pure distilled documents for you on four beautiful sides of vinyl and limited dual-colour (yellow/black) cassette.

Something may have come back with him...


"... a nervous twitch through the dial of a late 1980s radio receiver. Or a glitchy hyper-charged mash-up of Prince and Scritti Politti, full of unexpected changes and feverish vocal samples, each more queerly affective than the last. Like James Ferraro played for fun, or a DJ set by TV avatar Max Headroom on all the right drugs." The Wire

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Forgiveness Runs as Care Leaves 3:04 Buy

    Forgiveness Runs as Care Leaves

  2. 2 Charm School 3:43 Buy

    Charm School

  3. 3 Tsunami at White Hotel 4:36 Buy

    Tsunami at White Hotel

  4. 4 Command of Mind Equates to Love 1:53 Buy

    Command of Mind Equates to Love

  5. 5 Walking on the Sun 4:17 Buy

    Walking on the Sun

  6. 6 Pink Teens 4:28 Buy

    Pink Teens

  7. 7 Summer Numbers 6:12 Buy

    Summer Numbers

  8. 8 Belief 2:32 Buy


  9. 9 Megacycles 4:14 Buy


  10. 10 Arts (E) 4:41 Buy

    Arts (E)

  11. 11 Diagrams or Brain Thoughts 4:38 Buy

    Diagrams or Brain Thoughts

  12. 12 Ancient Metal Surveys a Dark Sea 2:38 Buy

    Ancient Metal Surveys a Dark Sea

  13. 13 Iron Tones 4:18 Buy

    Iron Tones

  14. 14 Mystery Lingers as a Branch of Heaven 2:06 Buy

    Mystery Lingers as a Branch of Heaven

  15. 15 Saturation Valley 5:55 Buy

    Saturation Valley

Phono Ghosts

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences